The Miracle of Pain: After the 911 Call

atheist-tragedy-bw

It strikes like an unseen viper sending strains of poison through every fiber of life leaving its victim paralyzed upon a roller coaster of emotions. Attempting to free yourself from this captivity of tragedy will exhaust you and confuse you. So what is a person to do after the initial shock? What are you supposed to after the 911 call has been made? The diagnosis given? The spouse has left? The child died? What do you do when your faith can’t even exist in these conditions?
Often we ask the questions of “Why?” Why did God allow this to happen if He is so loving and good? Why did He take my baby? Why do I have suffer through this cancer? We’ve done everything right. We’re good people. We live good lives. So why? This initial shock provokes us to handle our tragedies with very natural reactions, but what if our Father wants us to step out of the natural and into the supernatural so that we can see the miracle of pain? What if we move from asking “why” into “how” and “what”? I know that this sounds outrageous and probably rough, but we are promised trials and tribulations; however, we are also promised that He has overcome this world, this tragedy, this battle.

When we turn our “Why did this happen” into “How does God want me to handle this” or “What promises has God fulfilled in the past and will fulfill in the future” we remove our eyes from ourselves to focus on our Abba Father. Now I am not saying to bury your rage and fury and pain under the rug. Quite the opposite. Go to the Father! Be authentic and real with Him. Abba already knows your inner most being, but it is an act of trust to willingly share your deepest hurts. God can handle your rawness. Trust Him.

I must be honest with you: Abba may not take the pain away immediately and He may not answer your prayers in your time or in your way, but it wouldn’t be a miracle if you could make it happen. We wouldn’t need Abba if we could solve our own problems, heal our own wounds or clean our own sins. And most of the time, when we make it through the valley and onto the mountain top, we realize that it wasn’t just one thing God wanted to do in our lives, but several. God is a multi-layered Father. He wastes nothing and often can accomplish much in our lives when we submit to Him.
So as you wait upon Him, please remember these things:
• We don’t need to ask where God was or is. He’s always with us.
o “…for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deut. 31:6
• Fear and anger will come along to try and steal your peace and your joy during this time, but the joy of the Lord is our strength and with that strength we can make it through this.
o “Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” Neh. 8:10
o “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Phil 4:13
• God’s word never returns void.
o “so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11
• God works everything for the good of those who love Him. As Pastor Perry Noble once stated, “If it ain’t good, He ain’t done.”
o “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

I realize that for some, these are empty words that fall on flat. You’re an empty barrel in desperate need of water and the last thing you need is some chic throwing verses at you. I get it. I was there and the only thing that got me through the aftermath were my friends and family that literally carried me when I couldn’t carry myself. They prayed raw and powerful prayers. They wrapped their arms around me in love like a warm bandage. They were Jesus to me.
Give yourself time. Be gentle to yourself and don’t give up on God. Let this be where He proves who He is to you. Step out of religion and into faith. You’ll find the supernatural strength to take it moment by moment. Day by day. Week by week and before you know it, you’re moving out of the ICU into recovery.

Leave a Reply

