Mamma’s Lap

Image

The Sunday sun splashed his rays upon my back porch while I enjoyed my cup of blueberry coffee. The silence of the morning sang peace into my soul after a long battle. The symphony of the breeze and birds lulled me into the quietness of contentment. Leaning back into my rocking chair, I heard her little pitter patter of feet coming from the back door. My Lil Duck, arms full of toys, wandered to my side.

“Mamma, can I sit in your lap?” her little three-year old voice asked.
“Yes, dear, but you need to put these toys down so I can hold you.”

She looked disappointed, but saw I wouldn’t budge so one by one she positioned her toys in a perfect line on the patio table. Once she completed her task, she turned to me with her little arms up ready for me to wrap her up in a tight embrace. She wiggled and wiggled until she found a perfect little niche in my arms. Then one by one I gave her the toys she could handle while on my lap. She didn’t get them all back, but a word of complaint she did not utter. She held on to her toys while seeking refuge on her mamma’s lap.

The Lord used this sweet moment to reveal a much needed lesson. I want to sit on my Daddy’s lap. I want to be in His presence, in His warm embrace, but in order to do that I have to let things go. I have to put my dreams on the table. I need to let go of certain people. Leave my desires before Him. Then I will be able to enjoy the fullness of His presence, the fullness of sitting on His lap. And He doesn’t ask me to give those things up forever. He just asks for right now. When He sees fit, if those things are good for me, He will give them back. Maybe after a time that dream will come to pass, that person can come back, that desire will be revived. Or maybe He’ll give me new dreams, new people, new desires. Until then, I should just enjoy sitting in Abba’s lap, to be still and know He is God.

Matthew 6:24 warns us: “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other.” What masters are you serving and what is God asking you to put down? If you choose God, I’m not saying that laying those things down will be easy, but the reward is far greater than holding on to those things. Remember Hebrews 12:1 encourages us, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.”

Lay it down. God has something so much better in store and it starts with being in His holy and gentle presence.

Have a good day, y’all!
Brayden

2 thoughts on “Mamma’s Lap

  1. Brayden, so great to see you’re writing again. Letting go can be one of the most difficult things – but He does have wonderful things in store for us when we clear things out and make room. Bless you in the fullness of empty spaces. ❤

Leave a Reply

