I can do it by myself!

Father holding daughter at beach

The toddler fidgeted with opening her snack bag. Getting frustrated, she threw it to the floor. “Here honey, let daddy help you.” The child, not willing to admit defeat, snatched it away from her father, “No! I can do it by myself!” She continued to struggle for at least ten minutes, before breaking down into a fit of rage. “Daddy! Help me!” Graciously, the father swooped his daughter up in his arms and opened her snack for her to enjoy. “Here baby girl. You silly girl, why are you so stubborn?”

This has been a repeated scene in my home with my children and their parents. We want them to learn how to be independent, yet there some things they just can’t do by themselves. It’s often how my relationship with the Lord has been over the years. I know I struggle with so many vices and for the longest time, I didn’t want to come to my Father until I had cleaned myself up.

Have you done that before? Tried to get your life straight before coming to Jesus? Yeah? How’s that working for ya? Not so well, huh? I’ll tell you a secret: we can’t do it by ourselves. Look at Galatians 3:24-25 “Before faith came, we were held prisoners by the law, locked up until faith should be revealed. So the law wa put in charge to lead us to Christ that we might be justified by faith.” My study Bible’s note on this passage helped me understand it better: “The law teaches us the need for salvation. God’s grace gives us that salvation.” I know that I was living in lies and turmoil, but often or not, my pride and desire for independence fooled me into believing I could do it on my own.

Jesus didn’t ask me to clean myself up before I came to Him. He never asked me to figure it all out before I asked Him into my life. If I had it all figured out and my life straight, why would I need Him or His grace?

I pray today is your salvation day! I pray that today is my salvation day! We need His grace on a daily basis. Because I can’t do this on my own. I can’t save myself. I can’t fix myself. I can’t calm my anger on my own. I can’t have enough self-control on my own. I can’t love enough on my own. I need Him. I need His grace.

So what is it that you’re struggling with that you need His grace? Why not surrender that struggle, that pain, to the One who is gracious enough to take it for you?

Please use this forum as a way for us to share our struggles and victories. We go through these things to strength our faith along with others. So I encourage you, let us walk this walk together.

Blessings and Happy Monday!

3 thoughts on “I can do it by myself!

  1. Oh, Brayden, get out of my head! Daily, I am Martha. I struggle with my own will to do it myself, to make it happen, to be too stubborn to ask for help. Then, when I come to my senses and the Holy Spirit has his way with me, I melt, my heart opens, and I become Mary, and simply sit at the feet of Jesus.

    • Oh Ms. Susan, that’s not me in your head. 🙂 That is your beloved wooing you. I understand your frustrations. My husband often calls me Martha. I will post a great sermon soon from Elevation Church about Martha. I need to find which one it was first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

