Voices

voices-in-my-head

November marks a momentous month for my writing endeavours. I’m entering the National November Writing Month in which I must write a certain amount of words per day to reach 50k words at the end of the month. I’ve got the novel idea fleshed out in outlines and notes, and I’m encouraged to see this novel through to the end. Right now I’m mostly concerned with just getting the book done. But last night, my husband and I had a discussion on the purpose of this book. “What is the purpose, babe, of writing? Are you wanting to publish? Are you wanting to go full-time into writing? What do you want?” And the rapid fire questions caught me off guard. Why do I write? Because if the purpose is to become a full-time novelist, that affects our family in a tremendous way.

So my business partner (aka Bobby) and I had our first meeting last night about my first book’s progress. We fleshed out a time line and marketing strategies. And with him and his wisdom, I finally feel a bit less overwhelmed by this process. Because honestly, I listen to all these other voices that confuse me. I hear voices that pour out the discouragement as if they were pouring a poisonous venom into my coffee. I hear voices that speak out of both sides of their mouths like vipers. I hear voices that coax me with their false praises and sugar-coated lies. But there is one voice, it’s a still and quiet voice that says, “Put it on me. Trust me.”

Jeremiah 33:20-21 states, “This is what the Lord says: I have an agreement with the day and night that they will always come at the right times. If you could change that agreement, only then could you change my agreement with David and Levi.” In context, God was reminding His people of His promise to always have descendant of David ruling and the family of Levi to always have a priest serving in the Temple. Little did they know the fullness of God’s words and promises: Jesus. If they looked at their circumstances, if they listened to the voices around them, it was dismal. Israel ended up captured by Babylon because of their disobedience. But in the end, God came through. Despite the voices that God’s people heard that put them down for their faith and for their hope, God’s voice rang true.

I’m coming to the point in my life that I have learned to accept that in order to be successful and wise there are certain things I need to do. I need to heed the wisdom of those who have gone before me. I do need positive criticism and correction. I’d be a fool if I didn’t admit that. But most of all, I need to balance all of the voices against the one true voice: The Lord’s. He will not mislead me. He will not lie to me. He will not cause me to falter. Will my first book make it to becoming a New York Times Bestseller? I have no idea. I’m just going to be obedient. The Lord put this story on my heart and for some reason beyond me it needs to be told. I don’t have to understand it. I don’t necessarily need a five-year plan right now. I just have to trust Him. He will guide me and lead my steps.

I leave you with this today: Proverbs 16:9 promises this, “The mind of man plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” Who is directing your steps? The voices of those around you or the Lord?

2 thoughts on “Voices

Leave a Reply

