Already lost

the-hand-of-father-and-child-black-and-white-photo

She speaks, but the venomous words fall
Fall
Fall
Falling on my deaf ears.
She plays her dirty tricks
Purrs her lies
Oh, this mother of mine.
She’s already lost me.

He stands aside vacantly
Breathe in
Breathe out
Breathing but barely living
He tirelessly works his hours
But knows nothing of his child
Oh, this father of mine.
He’s already lost me.

My mind won’t give me rest
YeLlInG
yElLiNg
Yelling silently
I’ve taken
Another hit
Another sniff
Another puff puff puff
Numbing
Dumbing
Nothing
Oh, this broken family of mine
You’ve already lost me.
~ Brayden Emerick (2013)

Leave a Reply

