Oceans

Espanola_Island-Black-and-white-Coast-Ecuador-Grayscale-Island-Landscape-Ocean-Seawater-Shore-e1357921466265

A workout for me normally brings a cleansing emotion, yet one afternoon the sense of failure flooded through my body. I don’t look like the other female gym rats. I’m not petite, perky, or sleek. In my mind, I have the typical mommy body. A bit curvy, a bit lumpy, and definitely comfy (or so my kiddos say). Add to my physical insecurities, I feel behind in my own schedule to get my novels written and submitted for editing/publication. Am I really good enough to get this through? Will I just be a dreamer and a talker or will I actually be a doer?

So driving home from the gym, haunted by these emotions, I turned on the radio and stumbled up this mesmerizing song from Hillsong United called “Oceans”. It spoke volumes to me as to where I am and where I want to be. I want to be in God’s blessings and I want to be where He needs me to be. And that most of the time means stepping out of my comfort zone and staring my insecurities in the face, trusting that God will be enough for me. God has put a passion in my heart to write novels that will touch someone’s heart, and I need to step out of the boat and trust that the Lord will walk me through this. I will not look at the waves and the water rising. No, I need to look in His face and trust that He will hold me up.

Many of you can sympathize with me. You have dreams or goals that have been unobtainable for whatever reason. You’re in a situation where the Lord has asked you to step out of the boat and trust Him. There are blessings in His obedience. It can be terrifying. Think of Peter stepping out of the boat in the storm. When he looked at the storm, he fell. But when he kept his eyes on Jesus, he walked on water.

God has so much more for us that we can ever hope, dream, or imagine. So I ask that you join me in this prayer, “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon the waters
wherever You would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander. And my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.”

I’ve included the lyrics of “Oceans”. I pray the Lord encourages you through the song to trust Him in our oceans.

“Oceans” by Hillsong United
You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

4 thoughts on “Oceans

  1. Love this song; only discovered it about a month ago. And yes, I too am following a dream – an assignment from Him, if you will. It’s a writing assignment I’ve been working on for three years, so I know the feeling of stepping out of the boat with only God’s passion and that eye-to-eye contact to keep you afloat.

    I will be following and offering support, Brayden, as another daughter and sister in Christ. Bless you and your journey.

    • Susan,
      Thank you for your comment and support. Us girls gotta stick together! 🙂 I look forward to reading your postings and sharing in this walk together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

