Due Season

Psalm 145:15   “The eyes of all look to you,  and you give them their food in due season.”   (ESV)

Today I was reading Psalms 145 and verse 15 really stuck out to me. It speaks of how God gives us what we need in “due season”. It’s not too early and not too late. I think of when I was pregnant with my first. My hubby and I were stoked to be parents and couldn’t wait to meet this baby, yet we knew that if he came too early it could be devastating. When I was around 35 weeks I had been in a minor car accident that sent me into premature contractions. While I wanted to hold my baby after waiting for so long, I knew that we had to stop the contractions to let him finish growing. He needed that extra time in my safety so he could gather what he needed to be ready for birth.
This leads me to my current endeavours of wanting to be a professor and full-time author. I know that I am not ready to jump into these professions. It’s a process and right now I am staying in the safety of my Father so I can be ready when it is due season. I am still growing and doing, just like Jack did while he was in my womb. That boy, who was 9 lbs 15 oz at birth, definitely let me know he was growing and moving. And when we were both ready, he came into this world.
Is there something in your future that God is asking you to stay in His safety as He matures you, refines you, before He sets you out on your goal? We should always be refined by the Holy Spirit but perhaps you’re frustrated because what you want isn’t happening right now.  I encourage you that everything will happen in God’s perfect timing, “in due season.” Take this chance to soak up His goodness and wait on Him. “Be still and know He is God.”

Have a great day, y’all!!!

3 thoughts on “Due Season

Leave a Reply

